Australia Subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa

Australia Subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa

Alisha Khan Alisha Khan
[Published 17 Jan, 2022 | 03:23 PM]
About Author - 5 min read

With Australia currently being the most popular location for international visitors, the Subclass 491 can be the easiest way to immigrate through. With the help of this Visa, you can now work, settle, and become a permanent resident of Australia for a period of five years.

The new skilled labor regional 491 visa (Subclass 491 Visa) is a provisional visa that allows skilled workers and their families to live, study, and work in certain areas of Australia. This visa has a 5-year validity period.

The candidate for this visa must be nominated by the state or sponsored by an eligible family member who is an Australian permanent resident.

The Skilled Regional visa does not have any extensions. If you want to stay in the country, after the third year you can apply for an Australia permanent residency visa after three years of meeting the requirements.

What are the documents required when applying for Subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa?

  • Passport
  • Police Clearance Certificate
  • Marriage certificate
  • Language Competency Report
  • Skill Assessment
  • Language Assessment
  • Australian skilled employment
  • Education Qualification (as per Australian standards)
  • Specialist education
  • Study in regional Australia
  • Partner skills

What are the eligibility criteria for obtaining a Subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa?

  • You need to receive a nomination from a particular region or a relative. 
  • You should submit an online Expression of Interest (EOI) 
  • You must be able to qualify a language proficiency test
  • You should have received an EOI nomination invitation Your age
  • You must be under 45 years of age

What is the process to apply?

Step 1: Check the skilled occupations list

Check to see if your chosen career is included in the Australian Government's annual Skilled Occupation List.

Step 2: Conduct Skill assessment 

Have your skills assessed by the appropriate Australian organizations.

Step 3: Calculate your points

For visa applications, the Australian government uses a points system. To receive an invitation, you must achieve a minimum score of 65 points on these examinations.

Step 4: Submit an Expression of Interest

Apply via Skill Select to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) to the Department of Home Affairs. Skill Select thoroughly evaluates those 65 points before allowing you to begin applying.

Step 5: Submit supporting documentation

Following the acceptance of your EOI, the Department of Home Affairs invites to apply for candidacy. You have 60 days to submit your supporting documents. It is preferable to gather your supporting documents ahead of time.

You must apply on Immi account and provide these papers. You must also pay the required cost within the 60-day time frame.

Step 6: Track the progress of your application

You will receive an e-mail after your application has been received. You then have to login to your Immi Account to monitor the status of your application.

Step 7: Obtain your Visa 

Expect to get an email with your visa grant number, start date, and visa terms and conditions after your visa is accepted.

What is the time take for visa processing and what is the expect fee required?

The primary applicant's application fee for the Skilled Work Regional visa subclass 491 is AUD 4115. There is a separate fee for each consecutive admission of qualified family members. The processing time for visa 491 applications is not set in stone. Regional application processes, on the other hand, are given higher attention.


We welcome your feedback

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enquire Now

Stay up to date with latest news

Website-Pop-UpExpress Entry Latest Draw
Check Your Eligibility! chatbot icon
chatbot icon Check Your Eligibility In 60 Seconds!